Thursday, December 11, 2008

WCAG 2.0

A new day has dawned for web accessibility -- the W3C Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) Web Content Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0 (WCAG 2.0) has finally reached W3C Recommendation status it's now an official web standard. The WCAG 2.0 Guidelines are organized around the following four principles (use the acronym POUR to remember them):

  1. Content must be Perceivable
  2. Interface components in the content must be Operable
  3. Content and controls must be Understandable
  4. Content should be Robust enough to work with current and future user agents (including assistive technologies)

Check out the WCAG 2.0 Quick Reference and Understanding WCAG 2.0 to learn more about these guidelines.

No comments: